2008 National Housing Quality Award Winners

The NHQ Awards are sponsored by the NAHB Research Center and Professional Builder. Winners were recognized in a gala award ceremony at the 2007 Professional Builder Benchmark Conference Sept. 26 at the Chateau Elan Winery and Resort in Braselton, Ga.

By Staff | September 30, 2007
The Judges

Every year, the National Housing Quality Award judges apply a rigid yardstick against the best companies in the country. This year, five companies measured up and received National Housing Quality Silver Awards:

Pringle Development, Eustis, Fla.

Mungo Homes, Irmo, S.C.
Barratt American, Carlsbad, Calif.
Fireside Hearth & Home, Lakeville, Minn.
Mercedes Homes, Melbourne, Fla.

The last three in that list are national companies, and this award was earned for the entire company, not just a division. That is an achievement that has been reached only once in the 15 year history of the NHQ Awards.

Companies were considered against a refined set of criteria divided into eight categories: quality management, leadership, strategic planning, performance management, customer satisfaction, human resources, construction quality, trade relationships and business results.

The judging process involves two steps, including an initial evaluation by the judging panel based on the company's application. Companies that rate high enough then receive site visits from three to four judges who confirm the claims made in the application. Every category has specific areas the judges look for and each category has an assigned point total. To win an award, a company must meet minimum point levels.


Click here to read more about Mercedes Homes

Click here to read more about Pringle Development

Click here to read more about Mungo Homes

Click here to read more about Barratt American

Click here to read more about Fireside Hearth & Home

The Judges

NHQ Award judges are past NHQ Gold Award winners, quality management experts or representatives of the NAHB Research Center or Professional Builder. All of them have donated time, effort and travel expenses to participate and give back to an award program that has helped them improve their own businesses.

Todd Booze, Ideal Homes, Norman, Okla.

Tom Gillespie, Kennedy Homes, South Barrington, Ill.

Dan Gorski, Veridian Homes, Madison, Wis.

Denis Leonard, Veridian Homes, Madison, Wis.

Ron Swecker, Grayson Homes, Ellicott City, Md.

Serge Ogranovitch, The Potomack Group, Locust Grove, Va.

Chip Pennington, Shea Homes, Highlands Ranch, Colo.

Dean Potter, K. Hovnanian, Red Bank, N.J.

Bill Saint, Simonini Builders, Charlotte, N.C.

Kevin Estes, Estes Builders, Sequim, Wash.

Dennis Schroeder, Shea Homes, San Diego

Charlie Scott, Woodland O'Brien Associates, Carmel, Ind.

Frank Alexander, NAHB Research Center, Upper Marlboro, Md.

Customer satisfaction measurements provided by Avid Ratings Co., Madison, Wis.


Related Categories