Department Of Energy Names 2016 Housing Innovation Award Winners

November 9, 2016

The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) held its fourth annual Housing Innovation Awards, recognizing ground-breaking work in the field of zero energy ready homes.

A panel of judges picked 39 winners across five categories, including a Grand Winner in each group.

Of the winners, 27 of them were NAHB members. Mandalay Homes was the Grand Winner in the Production Homes category.

“We have worked relentlessly with our architects and engineers to reduce the amount of lumber needed in our homes through advanced framing techniques and some value engineering,” said Mandalay Homes Chief Technical Officer Geoff Ferrell in a press release. “We work with our trade partners to make sure they understand our priorities and we help them find ways to reduce waste and reuse bits that would otherwise go to the local dump. A marked reduction in the amount of material delivered to our sites is a great indicator of our efforts.”

Read more