Federal agencies boost standards for more resilient construction

Printer-friendly version

HUD, FEMA, GSA, Army Corps of Engineers make policy changes.

May 31, 2016
Federal agencies boost standards for more resilient construction

Photo: vaXzine/Creative Commons

Multiple federal agencies this month initiated new policies to make buildings in the U.S. more resilient to natural disasters.

Among the initiatives announced by the Obama Administration were:

  • Incorporation of resilient building codes into U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development and U.S. Department of Agriculture housing programs
  • Updates to the 2005 Multihazard Mitigation Council Mitigation Saves study by the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the National Institute of Building Sciences
  • A disaster deductible for the Federal Emergency Management Agency's Public Assistance program
  • Climate change risk screening for the General Services Administration's capital investment leasing program
  • Tornado-resilient codes and standards from the National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Resilient building codes from the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Comments on: "Federal agencies boost standards for more resilient construction"

July 2017

This Month in Professional Builder


Ashton Woods launched Starlight Homes to target entry-level home...

Overlay Init