What Builders Used for Building Their Own

Printer-friendly version

For John Eilermann, Loel Fenwick, Bruce Olson, Stephen Gillis and Steve Kendrick, building their own homes was a fantasy come to life. Using their projects as learning laboratories, each built his own home with tried and true products as well new and innovative selections.

October 01, 2006

 

For John Eilermann, Loel Fenwick, Bruce Olson, Stephen Gillis and Steve Kendrick, building their own homes was a fantasy come to life.

Using their projects as learning laboratories, each built his own home with tried and true products as well new and innovative selections.

What they used is ultimately a testament to the many products available on the market today. On the next two pages, see what products each chose.

Products Eilermann Fenwick Gillis Kendrick Olson
Appliances GE Monogram, www.geappliances.com N/A Thermador, www.thermador.com GE Monogram, www.geappliances.com GE Monogram, www.geappliances.com
Cabinets-Kitchen Dutch Made, www.dutchmade.com Custom stainless Omega Cabinetry, www.omegacab.com Custom Kraftmaid, www.kraftmaid.com
Cabinets-Bathroom Quintessential Antiques Custom Omega Cabinetry, www.omegacab.com Custom N/A
Central Vacuum Beam of St. Louis, www.beamstl.com Vacuflo, www.vacuflo.com N/A Nutone, www.nutone.com N/A
Countertops Counter Concepts, www.concretenetwork.com Granite Silestone/Cambria, www.cambriausa.com Granite-Gallo Antico Concrete
Decking N/A Pennsylvania Bluestone, www.gettysburgstoneworks.com Boston Cedar, www.bostoncedar.com T&G Treated Pine Trex, www.trex.com
Doors (Interior) IWP Jeld-Wen, www.jeldwen.com Custom Masonite, www.masonite.com 4-Panel Flat Wood Trimco, www.trimcobbw.com
Doors (Exterior) Jeld-Wen, www.jeldwen.com Custom Andersen, www.andersenwindows.com Rogue Valley French Doors, www.roguevalleydoor.com Simpson Crystal View, www.simpsondoor.com
Electrical Edge Gold Appleton Fittings, www.appletonelec.com Murray Electrical, www.monroelectric.com Leviton Switches, www.leviton.com N/A
Exterior Trim N/A Cedar Shingles Kleer PVC Board No.1 Kiln-Dried Treated N/A
Faucets Kohler/Rohl, www.kohler.com Chicago Faucets, www.chicagofaucets.com Kohler, www.kohler.com Kohler/Grohe, www.kohler.com, www.grohe.com American Standard, www.americanstandard-us.com
Financing N/A N/A Rockland Trust Company, www.rocklandtrust.com N/A Wells Fargo, www.wellsfargo.com
Fireplaces N/A Rais Stoves, www.rais.com Brick/Natural Stone Heatilator Icon 100, www.heatilator.com Montigo B-34, www.montigo.com
Flooring Contemporary Flooring, www.congoleum.com Maple Stuwart, www.stuwart.com N/A N/A
Furnaces Lennox, www.lennox.com Lochinvar, www.lochinvar.com Carrier, www.carrier.com N/A N/A
Garage Doors Overhead Doors, www.overheaddoor.com Wayne Dalton, www.wayne-dalton.com Karmin Doors Wayne Dalton, www.wayne-dalton.com Kal Door, www.kalwindows.co.uk
Glass Block Pittsburgh Corning, www.pittsburghcorning.com N/A N/A N/A N/A
Gypsum Wallboard N/A N/A Gold Bond Blue Board, www.nationalgypsum.com N/A USG, www.usg.com
Hardware N/A N/A Schlage, www.schlage.com Emtek Egg Knob N/A
Housewrap Tyvek, www.tyvek.com N/A Tyvek Stucco Wrap, www.tyvek.com Fortify Jumbo Tex Tyvek, www.tyvek.com
Home Theatre Elan Components Various N/A Nuvo Distributed Audio, www.nuvo.net/music N/A
HVAC Lux and Lennox, www.lennox.com N/A Carrier, www.carrier.com Carrier, www.carrier.com Lennox and Honeywell, www.lennox.com
Insulation-Fiberglass R-19 Owens Corning, www.owenscorning.com CertainTeed R-19, www.certainteed.com Kraft Batt R-19, www.owenscorning.com CertainTeed, www.certainteed.com
Insulation-Foam R-38 N/A N/A Icynene (rafters), www.icynene.com All Weather
Insulation-Rigid N/A N/A N/A N/A Cellotex
Interior Molding N/A N/A Van Millwork, www.vanmillwork.com Custom Trimco, www.trimcobbw.com
Lighting Juno Lighting, www.junolighting.com Appleton Fittings, www.appletonelec.com Lightolier, www.lightolier.com Leviton, www.leviton.com N/A
Nails N/A N/A N/A N/A Senco, www.senco.com
OSB N/A N/A N/A Weyerhaeuser Truss Joints, www.weyerhaeuser.com Weyerhaeuser, www.weyerhaeuser.com
Paints/Stains ICI Paints and Stains, www.iciduluxpaints.com N/A Sherwin Williams, www.sherwin-williams.com Sherwin Williams, www.sherwin-williams.com Pratt & Larsen, www.prattandlarsen.com
Plumbing N/A Kohler/Standard, www.kohler.com Kohler, www.kohler.com Sunrise Pedestal Tub by Grohe, www.grohe.com Grohe, www.grohe.com
Plywood N/A N/A 1/2-inch CDX Fir N/A N/A
Radiant Floor Heating N/A Wirsbo, www.wirsbo.com N/A N/A N/A
Roofing GAF Camelot Corrugated Steel IKO Chateaux CertainTeed AR Shingles, www.certainteed.com Ryerson Tull Corrugated, www.reyersontull.com
Siding N/A N/A R&R Primed Shingles Omega Stucco, www.omega-products.com Weyerhaeuser, www.weyerhaeuser.com
Skylights N/A N/A Velux, www.veluxusa.com N/A N/A
Telephones N/A Panasonic Digital, www.panasonic.com N/A N/A N/A
Tiles N/A Glass (Bathroom) Panaria/Grespania, www.panaria.it, www.grespania.com Dal-Tile, www.daltile.com N/A
Toilets Kohler, www.kohler.com Standard/Kohler, www.kohler.com Kohler, www.kohler.com Kohler Memoirs, www.kohler.com TOTO Chloe Washlet, www.totousa.com
Trusses N/A N/A N/A Weyerhaeuser Truss-Joists, www.weyerhaeuser.com N/A
Water Heaters N/A N/A A.O. Smith, www.hotwater.com N/A N/A
Windows N/A Milgard, www.milgard.com Andersen, www.andersenwindows.com Jeld-Wen, www.jeldwen.com Winter Seal, www.wintersealinc.com

Comments on: "What Builders Used for Building Their Own"

July 2017

This Month in Professional Builder

Products
Features

Ashton Woods launched Starlight Homes to target entry-level home...

Overlay Init